Skip to content

Living on Borrowed Time.

July 6, 2011

There are days when I feel that I am living on borrowed time. Today has been one of those. I live in beautiful Drumlin border country, lots of small hills and lakes. Unfortunately, the topography means our small roads are like switchbacks – narrow, undulating and with loads of sharp corners. Throw in the occasional Dissident Republican IED, fuel smugglers and farm contractors and our local roads are some of the most dangerous in Ireland. This morning I was almost struck by a car which had pulled out on a blind corner to overtake two walkers. The driver swerved back onto the correct side of the road, missing both me and the walkers by a whisker. This afternoon, I was returning home when I met two cars barreling down another country road at very excessive speed, clearly racing and taking up all of the road. If the first car had struck mine, the second would have tailgated him in a spectacular crash. Fortunately, I was able to aim for an opening to a farmyard, though I came a lot closer to a stone wall than I would have wished for. My wife said, “Third time lucky.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 1, 2014 3:55 pm

    Useful information. Fortunate me I discovered your website unintentionally, and I’m surprised why this coincidence did not happened in advance!

    I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

